Vote for Opal's 'Go Online' to help people learn

We would be very grateful if you could vote for our RCS/ Opal Services Go On Line project. This enables us to offer a service which helps older people to become confident and competent in using communication technology which can open up so many doors for them .

The voting process is relatively simple and we want as many local people as possible to support us in this so we can obtain funding to be able to both maintain and develop the service which is proving to be very popular and effective.


Golden Lion planning application withdrawn

The Pub planning application has been withdrawn - official CWaC email reads...

"Proposal: The conversion of the former Golden Lion public house into 3 dwellings including extensions and the demolition of flat roof extensions and porch and erection of 2 dwellings. The above planning application was withdrawn on 27 September 2016."

We can't speculate about what will happen next but if the property has to be put on the market (to demonstrate lack of viability) this would trigger a 6 months moratorium - meaning the sale would be put on hold. During the 6 months the community can raise the money to purchase the pub as it can only be sold to a community group during that time. We hope we will get some further information from the council to clarify the situation.


Coffee at the Café in support of cancer research


Come and help support Macmillan on 30 Sept at the Cafe. Tickets are available at the community shop and the café but those wanting to join in with the fun can drop in on the day and pay on the door .


CNN gives Ashton Hayes global coverage

CNN came to the village last week and produced this short piece on the community efforts to reduce our footprint. Thanks to everyone who spared time to be interviewed.


Summary notes from the Public Meeting in relation to the Golden Lion Planning Application

Summary of public meeting held on Friday 9 September at the school to discuss the planning application to convert the Golden Lion Pub into residential units.


Over 100 people turned out on Friday to discuss this proposal and to help with this the owner, Mr John Miller and his agent and architect attended and presented the plans and explained why the application had been made.

Parish Councillors were present although some apologies had been given from those on holiday or unwell. A number of local residents had also sent apologies. Councillor Eleanor Johnson was present as was Councillor  Deynem who is also a resident of the village and lives close to the site.

The meeting gave those who wanted to speak every chance to do so and there were a lot of questions about the design and safety aspects , about the visual impact and about the understanding of Mr Miller and team about the status of the pub given its listing as an asset of community value.

Many comments were made about the proposed plan  and Mr Miller`s agent at one point stated that his client and team were not surprised that they should be facing this level of opposition and concern .

All taking part in the meeting did so in a respectful way which allowed for a more useful discussion .

Importantly what emerged through the agent and Mr Miller himself was a commitment to consider any reasonable approach from the community given the  degree of interest there is in being able to develop a community pub. It was clear however that Mr Miller would wish to retain some if not all the rear car park area. It was pointed out that depending on the extent of this retained area it  could be a severely  limiting factor for  the community and for any other potential purchaser of the pub .

It was concluded that is now necessary  to allow the application that has been lodged to be properly considered by the Planning Officer  and a decision made . After this and depending on the outcome a follow up to the commitment made by Mr Miller to having sensible discussion with the community  about an acquisition could be made.

Those at the meeting were reminded that the last date for comments to the Council on the application is 13 September .

The Parish Council will be determining their own response to the application at their meeting on Monday 12 September